FEATURES : COLUMNS : REVIEWS : NEWS : FILM & TV : FORUMS : UGO

ABOUT




New Doc Ock Hits Spider-Man
Have you seen the new Doctor Octopus, designed by fan-favorite artist Humberto Ramos? Click to dig the Doc.
Marvel Hires New Publisher
Following such rumors, Marvel today announced that Bill Jemas has been replaced as Publisher. Now read who took his job.
CrossGen's Solus #7
CrossGen thinks you'll love George Pérez's new issue of Solus. And to prove it, here's a five-page preview.
Marvel Searches For She-Hulk
Writer Geoff Johns and artist Scott Kolins reunite for Marvel's Avengers as they search for She-Hulk.
Virtex Returns For Digital Webbing
A comic about a cybernetic cowboy that hunts outlaws riding dinosaurs? Where do we sign up? Read on and find out.
Marvel's Mutants Gains New Penciler
Marvel's New Mutants has a new artist onboard, and we've got a five-page preview. See if he's got the chops.
Image Rocks Out With Shangri-La
Are you ready to rock and roll? Image is, with their upcoming graphic novel Shangri-La. Read the details here.
Marvel Teams Up For A Good Cause
Spider-Man and The Incredible Hulk team up for charity in a special December one-shot. Read all about it.
Davis' Marquis Returns In December
Guy Davis' sin-slayer is back in The Marquis: Intermezzo, coming from Oni Press. Read all about it.
Marvel Unveils '04 FF Plans
Marvel plans three Fantastic Four series for 2004, and we've got the details and preview art. Check this out.
2F2F DVD Contest
The hit street racing film 2 Fast 2 Furious is driving to DVD players near you. Win a free copy from Slush and Universal.
 








Comic Review:
The Couriers
By Matt Martin

03.12.03


AiT/PlanetLar – Brian Wood (w); Rob G (a)

I once read a review of Brian Wood's Channel Zero that described the story as “going from point A to point A” over the course of the series. And while it was a snide comment, it’s both amusingly clever and exceedingly accurate, as the book promised a lot in terms of story movement and delivered very little. Wood’s spin-off graphic novel, Jennie Zero, didn’t really do a whole lot better. However, I thought Couscous Express, his first work for Larry Young’s AiT/PlanetLar that didn’t involve the near-future Channel Zero world, was quite a lot of fun, though Brett Weldele’s abstract artwork was a poor match for such a fast-paced story. So, given that The Couriers is essentially the sequel to Couscous Express, I had high hopes.

Before I go further, let it be said that many attempt to translate the action flick from the silver screen to the printed page, but few do so successfully.

Brian Wood and Rob G, after producing The Couriers, can safely be said to have joined the ranks of the few.

The book has a pair of rapid-fire prologue scenes, one establishing the unhappy relationship between the story’s villain and victim, The General and The Girl. The other is a chase scene/gunfight between the protagonists, Moustafa and Special, and their competition in the Russian mob.

Wood’s scripting never allows the heroes or the reader to catch their breath, moving as fast as he can from one sequence to the next, each filled with high adrenaline car chases and firefights, always over the edge of what is strictly legal. To be blunt, it reads like Pulp Fiction on speed.


Article continued below advertisement


The plot itself revolves around a job gone wrong, the pick-up by Moustafa and Special of a certain girl (The Girl, to be exact) at a certain airport. The heroes can’t seem to catch a break, hounded at every turn by rogue agents from the Chinese military, but sheer skill and more than a little bit of luck manages to pull them through every scenario. Wood follows Couscous Express’ theme of sticking by your friends and defending what’s yours once again, as the over-the-top reprisal by The General is met with equal vigor by the residents of Moustafa’s borough. Rob G, of Teenagers from Mars fame, turns in a stellar performance, carrying Wood’s adrenaline rush of a story along on the back of his fluid, kinetic pencils.

In the end, it’s hard to summarize a book like The Couriers, because there’s not exactly a real depth of plot. I hesitate to say that it’s the comic book equivalent of a good action flick, because I’m not sure that there’s enough material here to fill an hour and a half of screen time. However, what you see is definitely what you get from it, and that is a friggin’ blast.

Interestingly enough, while reading the book, I laughed that I had clearly been playing too much GTA: Vice City lately, as I found myself frequently drawing parallels between the game and the book’s plot (I mean, the final panel with the Russian mobster feels like it was taken directly from the part in Vice City where you take over the local crime scene). So I was amused to read the creator’s credits and see that Wood actually does work with Rockstar Games on the Grand Theft Auto series.

And that’s as good of a recommendation as it needs, for me. Fans of GTA, Brian Wood or simply action stories that don’t insult your intelligence need look no further than The Couriers.

Final Score: 4.5/5

 

 
E-Mail Author  |  Archive  |  Tell A Friend

 

 



 
Sword of Dracula
Slush launches our Halloween countdown with the first in a series of spooky reviews. First up? New series, Sword of Dracula.
John Byrne's IMO
This week John points out that fans cannot read the minds of creators, although you wouldn't know that by listening to some of them.
The Dead Zone
Flesh-eating zombies battle the last remaining police officer in Image's new series, The Walking Dead. We review the first issue.
Steve Niles Interview
Slush interviews Steve Niles, the acclaimed writer of 30 Days of Night, who tells us about the relaunch of Fused.
A Spidery Preview
Have you seen the new Doctor Octopus, designed by fan-favorite artist Humberto Ramos? Click to dig the Doc.
Kill Bill Review
Slush reviews the first installment of Quentin Tarantino's kung fu slasher masterpiece, Kill Bill.
Viper Interview
Slush takes a look at new publisher Viper Comics, and interviews the guys behind two of its hottest books.
Peanuts Collected
Cartoon fans rejoice. Fantagraphics is reprinting the entire collection of Charles Schulz' Peanuts. Read on for details.


CHANNELS:  Features | Columns | Reviews | News | Film & TV | Forums | Slushfactory.com

Copyright © 2003 Slush Factory Entertainment (E-mail)
All Rights Reserved : No portion of Slush may be reprinted in any form without prior consent